Ripley County Soil & Water Conservation District - Providing a means to work together for conservation
Upcoming Event:
Send us your ideas!
What type of Field Days or Workshops would you like to see?
2010 Events
Cover Crop Field Day                        March 18, 2010
This years Cover Crop Field Day had 17 landowners in attendance.  Speakers for the day were Hans Kok, Conservation Cropping Systems Coordinator, Dave Robison, CISCO Seed Company, and Mike Plumer, University of Illinois Extension.  This field day focused on the pros and cons of using cover crops in a no-till farming rotation.  The seed for the plot was donated by CISCO Seed Company and was planted by SWCD board chariman, Brian Evans.  The plot was planted using the SWCD's Truax Drill.  The day was a success and we look forward to another cover crop field day in 2011. 
17th Annual No-Till Breakfast        March 11, 2010
Every year farmers come from numerous counties to participate in the Regional No-Till Breakfast.  This method of round table discussion was once again very successful with 154 landowners in attendace.  Barry Fisher, NRCS State Agronomist was the moderator of the morning.  Those in attendance enjoyed a great meal prepared by Wayne's Meats of Milan with the help of the South Ripley FFA Chapter.  A huge thank you goes out to everyone who helped make this day great. 
60th Annual Meeting                       January 28, 2010
The 60th Annual Ripley County SWCD meeting was held on January 28, 2010 at the South Ripley Elementary School in Versailles, IN.  The night was succesfull with approximatly 80 producers and partners in attendance.  Breakout sessions started the night with a meal to follow.  The main speaker for the evening was Comedian, Jay Hendren.  Awards were given to the following farmers in Ripley County
2009 Conservation Farmer of the Year - Jack Schuerman
2009 Master Farmer - Paul Luke
2009 Indiana Conservation Farmer of the Year - Bob Brewington
An election was held and the new supervisors for the Ripley County SWCD are, Brian Evans - Chairman, Danny Geisler - Vice Chair, Jeff Meinders, Ryan Busch, and Brad Hicks. 
The Board of Supervisors and Staff would like to extend thanks to those businesses that donated items for our door prizes.  Also thank you goes to our partners who help make this event successful each year. 
Website provided by  Vistaprint
provided by Vistaprint